Skip to content ↓


The National Curriculum

The National Curriculum sets out what children should be taught. It sets out expected standards of pupils’ performance and content for those subjects that should be taught to all pupils. Schools may choose how they organise their school curriculum to cover the programmes of study for each Key Stage. Children in their Reception year follow the Early Years Foundation Stage.

  • Key Stage 1: ages 5-7 (Years 1-2)
  • Key Stage 2: ages 7-11 (Years 3-6)

For Key Stages 1 and 2, there are three core subjects:

  • English (spoken language, reading, writing, including grammar and punctuation)
  • Mathematics (including number and place value, calculations, fractions, measurements, geometry)
  • Science (including ‘working scientifically’)

In addition, there are foundation subjects; for Key Stages 1 and 2, these are:

  • Art and Design
  • Computing
  • Design and Technology (DT)
  • Geography
  • History
  • Music
  • Physical Education (PE)

A modern foreign language is also a foundation subject in Key Stage 2. At Hinguar we teach French.

The teaching of Religious Education is statutory in all schools. It is taught as a subject outside the National Curriculum and Hinguar follows Southend’s Agreed Syllabus.

The teaching of PSHE is statutory for all schools. This includes Relationships Education at key stages 1 and 2, Relationships and Sex Education (RSE) at key stages 3 and 4, and Health Education in both primary and secondary phases.

If you would like any further information about our curriculum, please contact the school office via email at